Information

What Is NoteShred

The idea behind NoteShred is simple. You create a note, assign it a password and then select how and when you would like the note to "shred" itself.
The note has a unique URL that you can send to a recipient along with a password for them to open the note. You decide when the note will destroy or "shred" itself.
We email you once your note is shredded or deleted so you can rest easy knowing that sensitive information is no longer just laying around in someone's inbox.

Your notes are secured using a strong AES 256bit encryption algorithm with a variable encryption key based on your own password combined with random data. This means that only the people with the password can decrypt the note. We are not able to decrypt your note or your attachments in anyway.


Why

Have you ever needed to send someone a password or some other bit of personal information over the internet? Did you do it securely, or was it over email?

What happens to your information once it arrives at the destination? Can you be sure it will be deleted after it has been read? Who may have been watching this information as it was in transit to the recipient and has your information been logged in plain, clear text on mail or message servers? Who knows where it has been recorded!

NoteShred offers a secure way to send these one-off, private bits of information without the hassle of having to configure confusing encryption software. NoteShred can provide a simple way to get your information from A to B and ensure it is destroyed after being used without having to worry about information lingering around after it's no longer needed.
Details of NoteShred's security measures can be found here: NoteShred Security


Premium vs Standard

When you first sign up, you will have a Standard account. This is the free account. This lets you have a total of 10 notes, 2 groups, 3 information requests and attach encrypted files up to 5MB in size. The note, group and request limit is based on how many items you see within your dashboard, not the total amount you create. ie, If you hit your note limit and do not want to upgrade to premium, simply delete some old shredded notes to stay under the limit.

Premium accounts have unlimited access to everything including notes, information requests and group collaboration with up to 25MB encrypted attachments. You can upgrade to a Premium account from your dashboard.
More information about Premium accounts here


Recommended Usage

Here's what we recommend for the best possible security:

  • Use longer, more complex passwords. The more characters the better, make sure no one can guess it. Using a sentence instead of a single word can help remember long passwords.
  • When sending the note URL and password out to people, don't send them both within the same message or email. Split them up and send them through different means to make it harder for anybody listening to get your information. ie, Send the note URL through email and the password over instant message.
  • Don't set long periods of time before shredding. Of course you're free to create a note that doesn't shred itself for years, but if it is sensitive information, we recommend you keep the lifespan short.


Frequently Asked Questions

You can find the most commonly asked questions here: NoteShred FAQ


Chrome Extension

Want quick access to create notes? There's a simple Chrome extension for that. Additional functionality will be available with the extension in the coming future. Get The Chrome Extension


Security

The most important factor when developing NoteShred was security. We wanted to make sure your notes were as safe as they could be.


One Way Password Hashing

When a new note is created, the password is processed using a strong one way hashing algorithm with a random salt value before being stored in the database. This hashed string cannot be reversed to reveal the original value. When someone attempts to view your note, they submit a password which is hashed in the same way as before and compared to the existing hash to determine if the correct password was entered or not.


Variable Encryption Keys

Each note is encrypted using AES-256-CBC with a hashed and expanded version of your own password as the unique key. There's no private or centralized encryption keys that can be leaked. Once your note is encrypted, there's no way to decrypt it without your original password which is not stored anywhere, except for in your head. Each and every note is encrypted using a unique key and not even we can decrypt it.


Client Side Encryption

Client side encryption is an optional second layer of encryption with one important difference, the encryption is performed locally, within your browser and the private key (which is basically just another password) is never transmitted to the server.
Your note is converted to an encrypted string within your browser and sent up to the server after which the string is encrypted all over again using the regular NoteShred AES256 encryption functionality.

Think of it like a russian doll, one encryption wraps around the other with different keys to decrypt at each level. If you include the SSL/TLS transfer, it's 3 layers of encryption.
Read more about NoteShred client side encryption here: Client Side Encryption


Short Life Server Side Session Cookies

All session and authentication data is stored on the server. No session information is ever passed down to the browser except for the session ID. All session data is encrypted and has a life span of 2 minutes (of inactivity), after which a new session is initiated and authentication is required again. The expired session data on the server is purged every few hours.


Note Lockouts

All notes have a fixed 5 login attempt limit. If 5 failed attempts are made to view a note, the note is locked for 5 minutes before another attempt can be made to view the note. This is locked at the note level, not the session level which makes distributed brute force attempts impossible.


Forced SSL/TLS

NoteShred.com enforces domain wide SSL/TLS connections. Every page is transferred over an encrypted 256bit connection.


Amazon S3 Encryption

Attached files are encrypted and stored in Amazon S3. NoteShred uses the AWS SDK and enforces client side 256bit encryption. When attaching a file, the attachment is encrypted on the server using an expanded and hashed version of your own password before being pushed as an encrypted blob onto Amazon S3. When retrieving an attachment, the encrypted blob is pulled down to the NoteShred server and decrypted on the fly with your password before being sent back to the browser to download. The decrypted file only has a lifespan of a few seconds before it is cleared.


Data Center Security

NoteShred is hosted with Amazon Web Services to securely store your notes.


Back ToTop